Fail – first attempt in learning

failure

So I didn’t finish my KM Strategies book during NaNoWriMo *sigh*. Just too many other balls in the air. Still, thanks to my failed attempt, I already have half a book, which just needs finishing. That sounds much easier than writing the whole thing!

For me, it’s a great example of how failure can be success-in-progress.

My book will get finished in the end and without this “failure” it would have taken me a lot longer than it will now (if you know what I mean) and the process of writing always helps me to clarify my thoughts.

However, learning from failure requires us to spend time reflecting on what is working and be honest about what isn’t working.

For me, NaNo has been enormously useful in helping me to clarify my priorities. Trying to add “writing another book” on top of all my usual responsbilities has helped me to understand where writing currently sits in priority against other jobs, and re-think where it ought to sit. Why did I prioritise other jobs ahead of writing this November and are those priorities the right ones? This way I’ll be ready for next time.

 

If you would like to receive occasional (usually monthly) emails with a summary of my recent posts, you can sign up to my newsletter.

If you want to find out more about my current books, click here.

About knowledge4lawyers

I am a lawyer and a Knowledge Management expert. Through The Knowledge Business I help law firms improve their efficiency and profitability through knowledge services - consultancy, training and implementation help.
This entry was posted in Training and learning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fail – first attempt in learning

  1. Pingback: Agility innovation and learning | Knowledge for Lawyers

  2. Pingback: Boo! Scary! | Knowledge for Lawyers

Leave a Reply

